Metadata Practices on the Cutting Edge

Workshop Speakers



Lorcan Dempsey   


Howard Ratner is CTO, Executive VP for the Nature Publishing Group. Based in NY, he is in charge of NY operations and has global responsibilities for Production and Manufacturing, Web Development, Web Services, Content Services, and Information Technology acorss all NPG products. Howard's prior positions were at Springer Verlag, NY and John Wiley and Sons. He serves on the CrossRef board, PubMed Central, CORDS and LOCKSS advisory committees.   


Chuck Koscher is the Director of Technology of CrossRef. He has been actively involved in improving the linking infrastructure for their member's scholarly publications. As a technologist his focus is on implementation concerns driven by data management, data quality and on the development of new services and standards initiatives. Chuck has more than 16 years experience in software services relating to content management and structured data delivery systems.   


Oya Y. Rieger is the Assistant Director for Services in the Digital Library and Information Technologies division of the Cornell University Library. She coordinates the library's Digital Consultancy and Production Services and also serves as the Coordinator of Distributed Learning to facilitate the development of new policies and programs in support of technology-mediated instruction. She has a B.S. in Economics, an M.B.A., and an M.S. in Information Systems.   


William G. (Bill) LeFurgy is Digital Initiatives Project Manager with LC's Office of Strategic Initiatives. He manages projects for the National Digital Information Infrastructure and Preservation Program (NDIIPP). These efforts include overseeing advanced digital preservation projects, guiding research on improved methods for long-term management of digital materials, and working with government agencies, private corporations, professional organizations, and other stakeholders. Formerly, Bill served as Deputy Director of Modern Records Programs with the National Archives and Records Administration.   


Rebecca Guenther is Senior Networking and Standards Specialist in the Network Development and MARC Standards Office of the Library of Congress. Her current responsibilities include work on national and international information standards, including, among others, rotating chair of ISO 639 Joint Advisory Committee on language codes and a member of the NISO Standards Development Committee. Rebecca has worked in the area of metadata since the early 1990s, including maintaining a number of crosswalks between various metadata schemes.   


Morgan Cundiff is a Senior Standards Specialist in the Library of Congress Network Development and MARC Standards Office (NDMSO). Prior to coming to NDMSO Mr. Cundiff served for five years as Senior Project Leader in the Library of Congress National Digital Library Program. Mr Cundiff has been active in the METS development community and has served on the METS Editorial Board from its inception to the present.   


MacKenzie Smith is the Associate Director for Technology at the MIT Libraries where she oversees the Libraries' use of technology and its digital library research program. She is currently acting as the project director for DSpace, MIT's collaboration with Hewlett-Packard Labs to develop an open source Institutional Repository for scholarly research material in digital formats. She was formerly the Digital Library Program Manager in the Harvard University Library's Office for Information.   


Nathan D.M. Robertson is a Database/Analyst Programmer and Systems Librarian for the Sheridan Libraries of the Johns Hopkins University. He is active in several library standards-related activities; in addition to the NISO/EDItEUR Joint Working Party for the Exchange of Serials Subscription Information, he is a member of the steering group of the Digital Library Federation Electronic Resource Management Initiative, and is Chair-elect of the LITA Standards Interest Group.   


Bruce Rosenblum, CEO of Inera, has spent twenty years designing and implementing electronic publishing solutions. He consults on the application of XML in publishing and the design of electronic production workflows. He co-authored the new NLM journal and archive DTDs, and the CrossRef Metadata Deposit Schema. Mr. Rosenblum leads the design and development of eXtyles, Inera's integrated suite of editorial and XML tools for Microsoft Word used in the production of more than 300 journals worldwide   


Dr. William Moen is a Fellow in the Texas Center for Digital Knowledge, and an Associate Professor in the School of Library and Information Sciences, University of North Texas. He teaches courses on the organization of information, metadata and networked information organization and retrieval. He chaired the NISO Standards Committee that drafted the American National Standard Z39.50 Profile for Library Applications, and is principal investigator for the ZLOT Project, the Z39.50 Implementation Component of the Library of Texas.   


Jenny Walker is Vice-President Marketing and Business Development for the Information Services Division of Ex Libris (USA) Inc. and is based in Boston. She draws on her international experience in the library automation and information marketplaces. As Director of Technology Product Management at SilverPlatter (London) Jenny was involved in the early SFX research work at Ghent University which led to the development of the OpenURL Framework of Linking and the OpenURL standard. Jenny is a member of the NISO Standards Development Committee (SDC) and co-chair of the new NISO Metasearch Initiative.


Return to main page

Copyright © 2004 National Information Standards Organization