Home | News & Events | Events | NISO Past Events | Past Events | Electronic Resource Management Standards

NISO/DLF Workshop on Standards for Electronic Resource Management

May 10, 2002
Wyndham Chicago
Chicago, Illinois

National Information Standards Organization
Digital Library Federation

NISO/DLF Workshop: May 10 in Chicago

On May 10, 2002 NISO and the Digital Library Federation will co-sponsor a half-day pre-standardization workshop to examine standards needed to facilitate the management of electronic resources. The workshop will be held in Chicago at the Wyndham Hotel. The workshop is free to all NISO members and DLF Sponsors. Advance registration is required.

Why this Workshop?
Libraries (particularly academic libraries) are investing major portions of their acquisitions dollars in electronic information resources. As these electronic collections grow they are becoming increasingly difficult to manage and few existing library management systems provide tools to address contract management, umbrella subscriptions, and license terms. Some libraries are investing in local development of control databases, while others are waiting for vendor-supplied solutions.

At this relatively early stage NISO and DLF want to begin the process of developing a standard set of data definitions and common XML schema, encompassing names, definitions, and semantic relationships for elements related to identification, access and licensing of these resources.

Who should attend:
ILS vendor staff, staff involved in electronic resource management and collection development, serials subscription vendors and intermediaries.

The Workshop has been planned by Priscilla Caplan (Chair of the NISO SDC) and Tim Jewell (University of Washington), who maintains a web-hub for sharing e-resource management metadata:


The Workshop was held at the:
Wyndham Chicago
633 North St. Clair Street
Chicago, Illinois 60611
Phone: 312-573-0300
Fax: 312-274-0164

Grand Ballrooms B and C, second floor
St. Clair Salons 1 & 2, third floor (breakout sessions)


  • Philip Adrian (Library of Rush University)
  • Marianne Afifi (University of Southern California)
  • Kristin Antelman (North Carolina State University)
  • Mary Alice Ball (University of Chicago Press)
  • Stephen Corrsin (Wayne State University)
  • Selden Deemer (Emory University, Woodruff Library)
  • Jim Dryden (University of Kansas Libraries)
  • Caroline Early (National Agricultural Library)
  • David Fisher (University of California, San Diego)
  • Theodore Fons (Innovative Interfaces Inc.)
  • Lynne Grigsby-Standfill (University of California, Berkeley)
  • Diane Grover (University of Washington Libraries)
  • Nancy Hoebelheinrich (Stanford University Libraries)
  • Ann Hulton (Emory University, Health Sciences Center Library)
  • Mary Jackson (Association of Research Libraries)
  • Thomas Jevel (Lucent Technologies)
  • Cathy Jones (SIRSI Corp)
  • Elizabeth Lorbeer (Library of Rush University)
  • Jerome McDonough (New York University)
  • Randy Menakes (ExLibris)
  • James Mouw (University of Chicago)
  • James Neeley (University of Kansas Libraries)
  • Brian Nielsen (Northwestern University)
  • Michael Pelikan (Penn State University)
  • Oliver Pesch (EBSCO Publishing)
  • Tim Prettyman (University of Michigan)
  • Sara Randall (Endeavor Information Systems)
  • Cindi Rosenberg (Takeda Pharmaceuticals)
  • Ellen Safley (University of Texas at Dallas)
  • Sandi Schroeder (Schroeder Indexing Services)
  • Jeanne Shuttleworth (University of Pennsylvania Library)
  • Albert Simmonds (OCLC-Online Computer Library Center)
  • Christine Stamison (Swets Blackwell)
  • Merle Steeves (University of Chicago Library)
  • Pat Stevens (OCLC-Online Computer Library Center)
  • Nate Trail (Library of Congress)
  • Jenny Walker (ExLibris)
  • Robin Wendler (Harvard University)
  • Bradley Westbrook (University of California, San Diego)
  • Linda Zaleski (Gaylord Information Systems)

Planning Committee

  • Ivy Anderson (Harvard University)
  • Priscilla Caplan (Florida Center for Library Automation)
  • Adam Chandler (Cornell)
  • Sharon Farb (UCLA)
  • Pat Harris (NISO)
  • Tim Jewell (University of Washington)
  • Nathan Robertson (The Johns Hopkins University)

Workshop Documents

Workshop Agenda


Friday, May 10, 2002


Coffee and registration


Start time: Welcome and introduction


Overview, model (Tim Jewell)


Description-Nathan Robertson (Johns Hopkins)




Licensing-Sharon Farb (UCLA)


Support and Access - Ivy Anderson (Harvard)

11:30am -1:00pm

Small groups (brown bag lunch available)


Reconvene in plenary, small groups report to the plenary




Adam Chandler, Recorder